Hilary Parker

TGIM!

In Uncategorized on August 1, 2011 at 11:47 am

Happy First of August, all!

This month is going to be awesome. In addition to the fact that I’m completely full up project-wise for the next four or five weeks, I have several important celebrations to note this month. First, on August 10, my firstborn turns 6! Then on August 26, my husband and I celebrate 11 years of marriage. Now, while these things are both lovely and important, they don’t have that much to do with Bullpen.

But this does: This month marks two years since the start of this little freelancing experiment, and I have to say, it’s been an amazing experience. You know how big of a proponent I am of freelancing, and you can probably tell I’m a very happy camper with this new career path. But I had no idea how much I would learn during the last two years — about writing, about business, about marketing, about myself… the list goes on. I’ve come to understand that for me, being a freelance writer/marketer/communicator gives me joy for the same reasons journalism did: You get to dive into something new every day, research the heck out of it and spin the straw into gold… all under deadline. That’s the kind of challenge I love.

So I’d like to give a shout out to Susan Quarne and Kate Sander at Cheese Market News, who hired me fresh out of college as a journalist. I know I’ve said it before, but I owe you both big time. Susan, you’ve set a great example of entrepreneurialship for me to follow. When I’m not sure how it’s all going to get done, I remember how many weeks on end you put out a newspaper and smile, knowing I’ll find a way. And Kate, thanks for helping me learn and grow, and for sharing the wonderful world of dairy. Both of you helped set me on my path, and you’re a big part of the reason that I’m a Thank God it’s Monday girl.

I’m now certain that Confucius was right: “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.”

 

Leave a Reply

